About Me

Hi everyone, and welcome to The Red Headed Mare!!  My name is Alicia and I'm a 20-something year old living and working in Rhode Island.  I was born and raised here and have seriously never left... and I have no desire to.  I love New England winters, and am a total beach bum come summertime and cannot think of any other place I would rather live.  I've been blessed to ride at beautiful barns all over this state and currently keep my horse at a very small dressage barn in the southern part of the state and we could not be happier.

After graduating from Rhode Island College in January of 2013 I began substitute teaching and landed a long term substitute teaching position that unfortunately ended at the end of the 2013 school year.  I applied for several jobs over the summer not expecting to find anything, and became the luckiest girl in the world when I got a full time teaching job beginning September 2013.  I teach special education at the middle school level and love my job so, so much.  I am still trying to figure out how to transition from being a student and having the ability to ride so frequently to a working (semi) adult with more limited ride time!!

Over the course of my riding "career" I have ridden many different disciplines and honestly love pieces of all of them.  I've dabbled in hunter/jumpers, western, trail riding, and eventing, but my true love is dressage.  Now that my horse is a bit older we've stopped jumping and eventing and moved to strictly dressage.  I've ridden and participated in clinics with some wonderful people and am now trying to mesh everything I've learned together to figure out just the kind of rider I want to be.  While I hardly show anymore I constantly want to progress and further my riding education.

No comments:

Post a Comment